Why Do You Want that Breakthrough? (or is that a dumb question?)

Why?

Why do you want it?

I know that might sound like a really stupid question, but hear me out.

There are many things that we want but never stop to actually ask “Why?”

Simon Simek is famous for encouraging us to find our why and the why of our employees and customers. So let me drill down and ask the uncomfortable question.

Two weeks ago I asked if you really wanted it.  Last week I asked you to describe what it looked like. Now you need to say why it is so important.

I don’t doubt it is important and you really don’t have to tell me why it is so important. But you must be honest with yourself. why

Why do you want it?

Many will respond, “Because I don’t want to live like I am now.”

Ok, so you don’t want to stay in the same circumstance you are now. I get that. So does that mean that anything is a breakthrough?

Of course not.

A breakthrough is a deliberate achievement to get what you ultimately want. It is that point where you are free from the current restrictions to pursue a new universe of opportunities.

‘sounds fantastic, right?

You might have a vision carefully construction into a vision board (by the way, a very valuable exercise) but unless you are honest with yourself and know why you want it, you risk never getting it.

Knowing our why drives our efforts and provides the energy to take the necessary action.

Knowing our why will give us the fuel to stay motivated when the fear, doubts and trials come (oh yes, they will come.) 

Why do you want the breakthrough you have detailed in your vision?

Be B.O.L.D.

Be Decisive

Breakthrough and Become the Disruptive Leader

I am Dr. Loren Murfield and I work with aspiring and emerging leaders to breakthrough and become disruptive leaders, doing the impossible by changing the paradigm of their thinking and telling powerful stories.  If that is your desire, contact me today.

Check out my online leadership platform. Power University

Like this post.

Share this post on your social media.

Follow me on twitter @theOpProf

(c) Murfield International, Inc. 2017

Leave a Reply

