10 Surprisingly Disruptive Books I Wished I Had Read When I was 18

Of all the books you have read, which one’s do you wished you had read when you were 16?  Why?

In my world of helping aspiring and emerging leaders do what they neve thought possible, I think back to my freshman year in high school and wished I would have had someone to guide me into a disruptive mindset.

The following are not in order of importance as each of my Top 10 Disruptive Books for an 18 year old are valuable for different reasons.

Here is my list.  Choosing just ten was difficult but it is a good place to start.   I think you might be surprised by many of these books because they don’t appear on lists for disrupting.   But that is ok.  I chose these based on what I would have needed at age 18.   Each of us have different challenges and so we’ll be attracted to different books.  So as you read this list, don’t judge the books based on their level of business clout but rather on how it has helped me disrupt my thinking and the world around me.  I’m interested, what is your list?

  1.  Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill.  Ok, this one might not be such a big surprise.  This classic is so valuable because it is a the conclusion of a research project identifying how the process by which the most successful people a century ago did it.  A great place to start thinkingabout disruption is how world and industry leaders have been successful.
  2. Power vs. Force by David Hawkins, M.D. Ph.D. This is a much more advanced reading but the principles are priceless.  To do the impossible, I must vibrate at a high level and collaborate   I learned an important lesson in reading this book that I wished I had learned in high school.  Each person vibrates at a certain energy level that either gives off energy or sucks the energy from you.  I also learned that when I’m in a good mood, I am one of those empowering others and when I’m not, I’m sucking the energy out of the room.  It challenged me to be more concsious of who I am in that moment and strive to vibrate at a higher level.
  3. You Were Born for This by Bruce Wilkinson.  This book shattered by old way of thinking by helping me to grasp that I was born to create miracles.  At 18, I was just trying to figure out what I could do but definitely was not in the mindset of doing the impossible.  I wished I had broached this issue back then.
  4. The Dream Giver by Bruce Wilkinson.  This little book is so profound because the parable explains the journey of any nobody becoming a somebody disrupting their world, doing what they never though possible.  There will be the challenges of embracing a big dream, leaving our comfort zones, confronting the boundary bullies, challenging the gianst and learing to and thrive in the land of promise.
  5. How to Think Like Leonardo  daVinci: Seven Steps to Genius Every Day by Michael J. Gelb.  daVinci shaped the world in a way that each one of us can replicate.  Simply take the time and effor to observe every problem, person or situation from three different angles.  Imagine the cruiosity that would have created and the wisdom I would have gained if I had learned to observe at 18.  Imagine how that would have set me apart.  Imagine the opportunities I would have seen and then seized.
  6. How to Think Like Einstein by Scott Thorpe would have taught me which rules to break.  18 year olds love to break rules but knowing which one to break in order to disrupt would have been immensely valuable.
  7. The Medici Effect:  Breakthrough Insights at the Intersection of ideas, Concepts & Cultures by Frans Johansson would have helped me envision potential connections.  At 16, my vision was limited but if I could have seen that opportunities come when trends intersect, I would have had a huge advantage.
  8. Blue Ocean Strategices:  How to Create Uncontested Market Space and Make the Competition Irrelevant by W. Chan Kim and Renee Mauborgne would have helped me find my place to disrupt.  So often we worry about being able to compete and at age 18, I was struggling to find my place in the world.  I could have learned an important lesson in leaving the bloody waters of competition for the blue oceans of possibility.
  9. Risky is the New Safe by Randy Gage would have watered that seed of challenge that I had inside but didn’t nurture.   I’d been taught to play it safe but didn’t see that the world that was about to emerge belonged to the risk takers, the entrepreneurs, the disruptors.
  10. Motivate This! by Steve Rizzo was one that would have made a critical difference in my life.  We can do anything when we control our own attitude, choosing happiness instead of whatever the world around us offers. Disrupting begins inside and spreads to the world around.  What better way that to control how I feel about myself, the situation, obstacles and possibilities?

Be Bold

Be Decisive

Become the DISRUPTIVE Leader in 2017

I am Dr. Loren Murfield and I  think and work differently to help aspiring and emerging leaders become disruptive leaders.  One decision I help them make is in writing their weekly blog, articles, white papers, online courses and a book.  Another way is challenging them to disrupt their organizations, careers and personal lives.  If you are bold enough to reach for what seems impossible to others, contact me today.

Check out my online leadership platform.  Power University

Like this post.image

Murfield Intl. is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.”

 

Leave a Reply

