Are you Going to Play it Safe in 2017 or Create a Radical Change?

What are you willing to risk to get what you ultimately want?  cards-1437776_1920

Disrupting our lives, career, market or industry demands risk and sacrifice.

Unfortunately many are not willing to take the risk.  They don’t want to gamble with anything other than easy odds.

So 72% of employees are disengaged, according to Gallup Polls.

Doesn’t that say that most of us are playing it TOO SAFE?

If we are unhappy in our jobs to the point where we don’t want to give it 100%, isn’t it time to do something different?

I’ve met many who say they want to make radical changes but very few who actually do anything.  They say they want to write a book, go back to college or move to a better location.  But in the end, they all parrot the same answers.  “I just can’t do it at this time.  Maybe . . . ”

Blah. Blah.  Blah.

I never thought of myself as a risk taker.  In fact, I still don’t.  After all, I like to play it safe and don’t want to lose what it has taken years to build.  So I understand them.

But I also know I went back to college at age 30 to get my Bachelor’s degree.  But I didn’t stop there, deciding to go for it all, earning the Master’s and Ph.D.  I’ve reinvented myself several times since then.

Why?

  • Because I was tired of working dull, boring jobs.
  • Because I knew there was something more and I wanted it.
  • Because I saw loved ones dying, some far too early, and realized life was too precious to waste.

I sensed that I had an opportunity and decided to take it.

get-your-shift-togetherIf you are sensing that I’m passionate about this – you are RIGHT.  Most of us are wasting our lives away.  We are dragging ourselves to work, suffering through yet another cold, dark winter and complaining all along the way.  We are NOT HAPPY.  Maybe that is why I’m such a fan of Steve Rizzo who taught me that HAPPINESS IS MY CHOICE.  Happiness is a purposeful decision, not a happy accident.  It comes when we decide to shift our thinking.  That shift is a radical change that demands a purposeful risk.  

It isn’t about a reckless throw of the dice where you cannot control the outcome.  Instead, creating a radical change or disruptive innovation is a strategic action.  It is following the trends, analyzing them carefully so we can forecast the best opportunities.   From there we build a strong team, a clear vision, savvy strategy and coherent action plan.  There is still risk but it is a calculated risk.

Many avoid anything outside of the safe, comfortable and predictable world. Risky is the New Safe.jpg Unfortunately, as Randy Gage notes in his 2011 book, “Risky is the New Safe.” Playing it safe is the riskiest things you can do in a world of rapid and radical change.

We all have the power to make a decision.  That means we have the power to choose to do something significant.  We don’t have to wait for someone else to help us.  We don’t have to wait for circumstances to change.  Becoming a disruptive leader is OUR CHOICE.

No one can make that choice for us and no one can make us the disruptive leader.  It is an inside-out process, not outside-in.

The good news is that  creating a radical change is like happiness.  IT IS OUR CHOICE.

The bad news is that if we don’t choose to create radical change, it will never happen.

Making the Bold Choice  

Whether you are in sales, Human Resources, entry level management or a seasoned executive, you stand on the threshold of a new year filled with choices.  In the end, the legacy you leave is built by the story you believe and the life you lead.  It is all YOUR CHOICE.

  • What story are  you going to live in 2017?
  • Are you going to make a bold choice to create a radical change?
  • Or are you going to play it safe even though you are not happy?

Be Bold

Be Decisive

Become the Disruptive Leader

I am Dr. Loren Murfield and I work with aspiring and emerging leaders to become disruptive leaders.  One decision I help them make is in writing their weekly blog, articles, white papers, online courses and a book.    If that is your desire, contact me today.

Checkout my online leadership platform.  Power University

Like this post.
Share this post on your social media.
Follow me on twitter @theOpProf

(c) Murfield International, Inc.  2016

I receive no compensation from Steve Rizzo or Randy Gage..

 

Leave a Reply

