I did not Intend to Become a Leader

children-60638_1920I did not intend to become a leader. In fact, I didn’t think I had it in me.  I didn’t have that talent, that gift that others had.
I also did not intend to become an author or biographer.   I never really gave it a thought either.  I never imagined writing a book or telling someone’s  story.  But when I became curious, a whole new world opened up to me.  It is only when I asked, “What if . . .” that I started to see what many do not.
It all started by becoming curious, asking questions about those things that happened before I was born and outside of my perspective. It was there, in the joy of discovery and sharing that I found the desire and developed the ability to write and lead.
Isn’t that the way many of us find new opportunities?  Isn’t doing the impossible really started by recapturing our childhood curiosity?We consider that which we never thought possible when we transform our thinking, considering what can be if we just take a look over there or another step forward or even dare to go where we have never gone before.  Suddenly, we enter an entirely new world where the impossible is possible.  We evolve from thinking being limited because we don’t think we have the gift or talent to trying it for ourselves.  I never thought that I had a gift or talent for writing – so I didn’t pursue it.  But when I took a different perspective and saw it as a skill to be developed, amazing things happened.  Others started claiming I had a gift, a talent that was given to me and not to them.  I don’t know whether I was given something special at birth through my unique DNA.  I do know that being curious can lead to doing what we never thought possible.  That includes writing.  That includes leading.That is the secret to my writing 8 books in one year. I was curious. I changed my perspective and loved learning. But I also have a strong desire to share with others. In the end, I wrote. I put one sentence down on paper. Then another. Then another. Soon the paragraphs were mounting and I had a chapter. Still curious and still willing to share, I kept learning and exploring. Soon I had my first book.  Then I was curious about a related topic and repeated the process.  Pretty soon my curiosity was insatiable and my energy flowed onto the keyboard and into book after book after book.  That is the process.  That is how books are written.  We must first become curious and then are willing to work through our insecurities and fears.

But then something amazing happened.  As I have shared my writings, others took notice, became curious and wanted to know more.  That is when I became a leader.  I first led myself, following my passions and curiosity and wrote books.  That is how I become a thought leader, where others looked to me for ideas, insight and solutions.  Then, I became an organizational leader, sought out and given a formal position and authority to share this knowledge and make a difference.

I really did not intend to become a writer or a leader.  Instead, my leadership started with my curiosity.   

Sadly, many have it backwards.  They seek the leadership position so they can influence a team.  Only a few of these leaders see themselves as thought leaders.  Even fewer take the time and effort to sit down and write.  Most have sacrificed their curiosity for normal results, replicating rather than innovating.
We see this in blogging.  The “experts” tell me to limit my blog posts to 250 words.  Some push that to 350 or at the most 450.  They say that is what most readers want.  Maybe that is because most are not curious enough to read this long of a post.   But that is my point.  As a writer, I am not the “normal” reader – and neither are you.  “Normal” people follow and do not lead.  Leaders are curious.  Followers are not.  “Normal” people are at best mediocre team members and not innovative leaders.  “Normal” people are not willing to work long enough and hard enough to share their work. That is unfortunate because they convince themselves that writing their book or doing something great is actually “impossible.” And so they stay in “normal”, firmly imprisoned by their  current perspective and flawed process of thinking.  They think writing is a talent they were never given.  It is a gift that someone else has and they do not.  They think leadership is a position they hold.  They think impossible is a permanent condition. 
They are mistaken.   They can develop that skill – if they are curious and willing.    They can become leaders.  They can become writers.
Transform that Thinking. We Do the impossible when we are first curious and then willing to share and then determined to take the successful action.Are you curious enough to explore?
Are you willing to share what you learn?
Are you determined to do the work?Share this post with your friends. We each have a story to tell – and it needs to be written.

I am Dr. Loren Murfield and I help followers become leaders and leaders become writers.
Photo: I didn't set out to be a writer.  </p><br />
<p>I became a writer because I was first curious, asking questions about those things that happened before I was born and outside of my perspective.  It was there, in the joy of discovery and sharing that I found the desire and developed the ability to write.  </p><br />
<p>I don't consider writing a gift or that unusual of a talent.  Instead, writing is a skill to be developed.  It becomes a talent when we have worked at it long enough to do something many cannot and consider impossible for them.  </p><br />
<p>That is the secret to my writing 8 books in one year.  I was curious.  I changed my perspective and loved learning.  But I also have a strong desire to share with others.  In the end, I wrote.  I put one sentence down on paper.  Then another.  Then another.  Soon the paragraphs were mounting and I had a chapter.  Still curious and still willing to share, I kept learning and exploring.  That is how books are written.  We must first become curious and then are willing to work through our insecurities and fears.    </p><br />
<p>Unfortunately, most are not curious enough to read this long of a Facebook post.  Most are not willing to work long enough and hard enough to share their work.  That is unfortunate because they convince themselves writing a book is impossible.  </p><br />
<p>At the same time, too many think writing is a talent they were never given.  Transform that Thinking.  We Do the impossible when we are first curious and then willing to share and then determined to take the successful action.    </p><br />
<p>Are you curious enough to explore?<br /><br />
Are you willing to share what you learn?<br /><br />
Are you determined to do the work?  </p><br />
<p>Share this post with your friends.  We each have a story to tell - and it needs to be written.

 

Leave a Reply

